About the Commission

The Chattanooga-Hamilton County Regional Planning Commission was created in the early 1950’s as a result of a state law. The Planning Commission is a voluntary body of 15 members largely appointed by the Mayor of the City of Chattanooga and the Hamilton County Mayor for staggered three-year terms.

Its role is to make zoning and land use recommendations to the local legislative bodies and to make final decisions on subdivision requests for Chattanooga, Hamilton County, Lakesite, Lookout Mountain, TN, and Walden. The Planning Commission meets on the second Monday of each month at 1:00 PM on the 4th floor of the Hamilton County Courthouse to consider these requests. These meetings are open to the public.

Click here for 2019 Meeting Schedule

Regional Planning Commissioners

Name Term expiration
City of Chattanooga Appointments
Mayor Andy Berke, Represented by Blythe Bailey or Donna WilliamsCo-Term
City Councilman Darrin LedfordCo-Term
Thomas Palmer2020
Mary K. Hiatt2021
Adam Veron2021
Jason T. Farmer2022
Velma Wilson2022
Hamilton County Appointments
County Mayor Jim Coppinger, Represented by Todd Leamon or Alan KnowlesCo-Term
Hamilton County Commissioner Patricia Moore (a different Commissioner attends each month)Co-Term
Y. L. Coker2021
David Mathews2023
Chris Mabee2020
Jimmy Parks2022
Barry Payne2022
Chair (jointly appointed by the Hamilton County Mayor and City of Chattanooga Mayor)
Ethan Collier2022
John Bridger, Executive Director, Chattanooga-Hamilton County Regional Planning AgencyN/A

Contacting Regional Planning Commissioners

In an effort to comply with Tennessee Open Meeting requirements and to provide all parties an equal opportunity to be heard by the entire Planning Commission during the public hearing, the Planning Commission members are unable to speak to you or read and respond to written communications on agenda items before action is taken in a public hearing during the Planning Commission meeting each month.

As public feedback is important to the process, stakeholders are encouraged to attend and provide input at the monthly Planning Commission meetings. If you are unable to attend the meeting(s) or if you would like to also provide written comments to the Planning Commissioners, you may provide your input by sending an email to regionalpc@chattanooga.gov or by contacting the staff of the Planning Commission at the Chattanooga-Hamilton County Regional Planning Agency at (423) 643-5902. Any communications before the monthly meetings will be provided to all Planning Commissioners during the public hearings of the Chattanooga-Hamilton County Regional Planning Commission each month.